Lucy's Friendly Foods

IMG_6465

Lemon curd, mmmmmm, so yummy and zingy but also crammed full of eggs and milk – not ideal for us at all! I have such clear memories of not very inspiring school cookery lessons and particularly the one where we made lemon curd – I was so surprised at the ingredients! As a child I imagined lemon curd was made like jam, how wrong was I!

Anyway, I had an idea of making a lemon mousse using aquafaba and lemon curd as lemon mousse was my most favourite pudding when I was little. Sadly that experiment was a total failure, resulting in airy foam suspended above a layer of lemon curd – not nice! Anyway, it prompted me to make some gorgeous egg and dairy free lemon curd. Yes it is possible, in fact it is actually rather delicious, the only real difference being that it doesn’t keep as long as the conventional kind.

Utterly delicious served on toast, with scones or keep some for my divine lemon cake recipe coming later this week.

Lemon Curd (dairy-free, egg-free, nut-free, soya-free, sesame-free, gluten-free, vegetarian and vegan)

IMG_6462

makes 1 medium jar or 2 small

  • 1/3 cup oat milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tbsp cornflour
  • 6 tbsps caster sugar
  • 6 tbsps lemon juice (about 2-3 lemons)
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 4 tbsps dairy-free spread
  • pinch of salt

– Dissolve the cornflour in the water and oat milk. Heat and stir until starting to bubble.

– Add the dairy-free spread, lime juice, zest, sugar and salt.

– Continue to bubble until it starts to thicken.

– When coats a spoon transfer to a non-metalic bowl and whisk with an electric whisk for a couple of minutes.

– Cool to room temperature and then transfer to the fridge.

– This curd will keep for 4-5 days in the fridge.

IMG_6461

4 Responses

  1. I remember the first time I made lemon curd. It is amazing and I cannot believe I can still remember it but that is why everyone should make Lemon Curd! Great post.

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Lucy's Friendly Foods

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading