Lucy's Friendly Foods

Big S has been really unwell this weekend, so she gets to eat what she wants when she wants – sometimes any food is good. The only things she seems to have wanted are either sweet or zingy. Crisps are always what I fancy when I’m ill, so I thought I’d recreate her favourite zingy salt and vinegar flavour in a healthier popcorn form. After much recipe browsing on the web I came up with this version – salty with a sweet balsamic twang…

Salt and Vinegar Popcorn (dairy-free, egg-free, nut-free, sesame-free, soya-free, gluten-free, vegetarian and vegan)

makes one bowlful

  • 2 cups freshly popped corn
  • 1 tbsp dairy-free spread
  • 2-3 tbsps balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp salt

– Pop the corn

– Meanwhile melt the dairy-free spread in a saucepan.

– Stir in the balsamic vinegar.

– Sprinkle the salt over the corn and stir/toss well.

– Pour over the hot spread/balsamic mix.

– Stir well and serve straight away

16 Responses

  1. mmm, I love popcorn! Normally I toss it with nutritional yeast, but salt and vinegar sounds like a yummy alternative. Nothing wrong with mixing things up 🙂

      1. No secrets. I just “butter” my popcorn with dairy-free spread, and then sprinkle on the nutritional yeast.

  2. I tried this recipe but the popcorn shrunk into nothing when I poured on the melted butter-vinegar concoction!! What type of bowl did you have the popcorn in when you did this? How did you make sure it was all coated? Could you poss give some more detailed instructions for me?? I would really like to try again!

    Thanks!

    1. Hmm, that’s strange, I’ve never had that happen so far. i just used a very large metal bowl and coated the popcorn while it was still warm and then tossed it a lot. Maybe try using more popcorn and less balsamic mix? Hope that helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Lucy's Friendly Foods

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading