Lucy's Friendly Foods

IMG_7252

Apple and cinnamon is such a fantastic flavour match, and it’s perfect for these dreary, cold and wet winter days. My girls seem to have a real aversion to mushy fruit in baked dishes (you might have noticed a tendency to chocolate in my recipes, and that is completely why!). However I thought a good dose of cinnamon and the apple being grated and therefore less challenging would manage to overcome those issues. Funnily enough they were rather enjoying them until I mistakenly mentioned the apple (why did I do that!), then they were rather less than keen. I’d say the result is mildly ‘appley’ with a good cinnamon whack – add more if you really like cinnamon – and I really enjoyed the fruity change. They’re particularly enjoyable still warm from the oven and would make a great breakfast or tea time treat.

Apple and Cinnamon Muffins (dairy-free, egg-free, nut-free, soya-free, sesame-free, vegetarian and vegan)

IMG_7254

makes 9-12 depending on the size

  • 1 apple, grated
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup apple puree
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 1/2 cup oat milk
  • 1/3 cup sunflower oil
  • 2 tsps cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 cups self-raising flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 an apple, cubed and tossed with 1 tbsp flour and a sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp caster sugar, for sprinkling

– Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Centigrade/Gas Mark 6

– Line a muffin tray

– Mix together the grated apple, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and lemon juice and set aside.

– Whisk together the apple puree, caster sugar, oat milk and sunflower oil.

– Stir in the grated apple mix.

– Sift in the flour and cinnamon and gently fold together until just combined. Its very important not to over-mix a muffin mixture.

– 1/2 fill the muffin cases, topping each one with a few cubes or apple and a sprinkle of caster sugar

– Bake for 18-20 minutes until cooked through and a knife comes out clean.

– Cool on a wire rack.

IMG_7256IMG_7248

4 Responses

  1. Yummy yummy! I will have to have a go and these with gluten-free flour. My kids are the same about fruit in things…especially dried fruit…so I will call them cinnamon muffins! Sorted! It is all in the name I find 😉

  2. I just wanted to say thank you for all that you do! I’m dealing with almost identical allergies in my family, and you’ve been my go-to website for a couple of years now! Apple and cinnamon muffins are in the oven 🙂 Thanks for everything, Rebecca

    1. aww thank you so much for your lovely message Rebecca. It’s really made my day!! I’m so pleased you like my recipes and they have been useful. Do you have any particular favourites? Lucy x

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Lucy's Friendly Foods

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading