Lucy's Friendly Foods

Strawberry and Rose Chocolate Discs

I think most people love a luxury chocolate some time or another, but with a dairy and nut-free diet they can be hard to come by. A restricted diet shouldn’t mean plain foods and no luxuries. The solution, as usual, is to make your own! And really it only takes minutes to do.

Big S loves berries and floral scents so it was with her in mind that I combined rose water and freeze dried strawberries. This is an elegant, lady-like fine chocolate, just make sure to keep in the fridge.

Rose and Strawberry Chocolate Discs (dairy-free, egg-free, nut-free, sesame-free, vegetarian and vegan)

IMG_5840

Makes 10-12

  • 1 85g pack dairy-free dark chocolate, I used Kinnerton
  • 1/2 tsp rose water
  • 2-3 tbsps freeze dried strawberries

– Melt the chocolate in a microwave or over a Bain Marie
– Line a cookie sheet with baking paper
– Stir the rose water into the melted chocolate
– Place dollops onto the baking paper and spread thin
– Scatter over the dried strawberries
– Place in the fridge to set

IMG_5839

5 Responses

  1. Your chocolates sound delicious!… The freeze dried strawberries at the store keep calling to me, but they always seem so expensive. Guess I should just bite the bullet and indulge.

  2. This is my first time to stop by! I just discovered your blog through another food blogger. I look forward to reading more of your posts, just added your blog to my list. These strawberry and rose chocolate discs look so romantic and an ideal luxury dessert! I’ve always wanted to use rose water in a variety of dishes after learning about it in Turkey and Malaysia. Looks so beautiful and divine! I bet they are tasty with some floral-infused salt.

    1. Welcome! Thanks for adding me to your list, i’m most flattered. I just checked out your blog – some seriously tempting food, I will be visiting often 🙂

      Rose water is so floral and exotic – I ‘m thinking there will be lots of future uses (slightly less than planned as I spilt half the bottle all over the kitchen! Oh well, at least it smelt gorgeous!)

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Lucy's Friendly Foods

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading