lucylox:

This is my first ever reblog – I was so happy with this post last year, that I thought I’d post it up again on Good Friday 2013. This year I made some spiced maple ‘butter’ to spread on top of the warm/toasted buns – 1/4 cup dairy-free spread mixed with 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 tbsps mapel syrup – delicious!
Happy Easter Everyone :-)

Originally posted on lucysfriendlyfoods:

Well, it’s Good Friday so it must be the day to post Hot Cross Buns. I could have easily bought some dairy-free, egg-free low quality buns from the supermarket… but, since I’m challenging myself and the supermarket version “may have traces of sesame” I decided to make a batch. It was a bit of a palaver …. hours of rising and knocking back, but actually they worked really well and it was very satisfying having a home-made batch to hand out. It’s Little S who can’t have sesame and she really isn’t keen on currants/sultanas/raisins so they weren’t her thing… but Big S and I thought they were very authentic and rather yummy!

Hot Cross Buns (dairy-free, egg-free, soya-free, nut-free, vegetarian and vegan)

makes 6

  • 320g strong bread flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground mixed spice
  • 25g dairy-free spread (I use Pure)
  • 45g granulated sugar
  • zest of…

View original 272 more words

Leave a Reply

